New Jersey SAFE Act N.J.S.A. 34:11C-1 et seq.



Leave of absence to address domestic or sexual violence

The New Jersey Security and Financial Empowerment Act ("NJ SAFE Act") provides that certain employees are eligible to receive an unpaid leave of absence, for up to 20 days in a 12-month period, to address circumstances resulting from domestic violence or a sexually violent offense.

Eligible Employees

To be eligible, the employee must have worked at least 1,000 hours during the immediately preceding 12-month period. Further, the employee must have worked for an employer in the State that employs 25 or more employees.

Covered Reasons for NJ SAFE Act Leave

NJ SAFE Act leave may be taken for the purpose of engaging in any of the following activities by (1) an employee who is a victim of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense, or (2) an employee whose parent-in-law, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, child, parent, spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, or any other individual related by blood to the employee, or any other individual that the employee shows to have a close association with the employee which is the equivalent of a family relationship, is a victim of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense:

- (1) Seeking medical attention for, or recovering from, physical or psychological injuries caused by domestic or sexual violence
- (2) Obtaining services from a victim services organization
- (3) Obtaining psychological or other counseling
- (4) Participating in safety planning, temporarily or permanently relocating, or taking other actions to increase the safety from future domestic violence or sexual violence or to ensure the economic security
- (5) Seeking legal assistance or remedies to ensure health and
- (6) Attending, participating in or preparing for a criminal or civil court proceeding relating to an incident of domestic or sexual violence.

When NJ SAFE Act Leave May Be Taken

Leave under the NJ SAFE Act must be used in the 12-month period immediately following an instance of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense. The unpaid leave must be taken at least one day at a time, and may be taken intermittently.

NJ SAFE Act and Other Leave Laws

Unpaid leave under the SAFE Act shall run concurrently with any paid vacation leave, personal leave, or medical or sick leave, or any family temporary disability leave benefits, that the employee elects to use during any part of the 20-day period of unpaid leave. If the employee requests leave for a reason covered by both the NJ SAFE Act and the Family Leave Act, N.J.S.A. 34:11B-1 et seq., or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 20 U.S.C. 2601 et seq., the leave shall count simultaneously against the employee's entitlement under each respective law.

Notice and Documentation of NJ SAFE Act Leave

Employees eligible to take leave under the NJ SAFE Act must, if the necessity for the leave is foreseeable, provide the employer with written notice of the need for the leave, unless an emergency or other unforeseen circumstance precludes prior notice. The employee must provide the employer with written notice as far in advance as reasonable and practicable under the circumstances. The employer has the right to require the employee to provide the employer with documentation of the domestic violence or sexually violent offense that is the basis for the leave. The employer must retain any documentation provided to it in this manner in the strictest confidentiality, unless the disclosure is voluntarily authorized in writing by the employee or is required by a federal or State law, rule or regulation.

Prohibition Against Retaliation Under the NJ SAFE Act

The NJ SAFE Act also prohibits an employer from discharging. harassing or otherwise discriminating or retaliating or threatening to discharge, harass or otherwise discriminate against an employee with respect to the compensation, terms, conditions or privileges of employment on the basis that the employee took or requested any leave that the employee was entitled to under the NJ SAFE Act, or on the basis that the employee refused to authorize the release of information deemed confidential under the NJ SAFE Act. Learn more at myworkrights.gov.

Seeking a Remedy Under the NJ SAFE Act

To obtain relief for a violation of the NJ SAFE Act, an aggrieved person must file a private cause of action in the Superior Court within one year of the date of the alleged violation. Learn more at nicourts.gov.

Need Additional Support?

You and your loved one deserve help coping with and finding safety from domestic or sexual violence. For additional support, contact:

New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault Hotline 1-800-601-7200

New Jersey Domestic Violence Hotline 1-800-572-SAFE (7233)

Women's Referral Central 1-800-322-8092